Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Healing Notes Blog Tour


Healing Touches will touch your heart as you read about Rachel and her struggle to get past a vicious attack a year earlier. She meets Noel who has his own personal baggage to come to terms with, will they be able to push past the past to forge a future together?
Readers can empathize what the characters are going through emotionally. Rachel's brutal attack is something women, whether it has happened to you or not, can identify with. The victim is always somehow blamed and Rachel has to come to terms with what happened and that was not responsible for what happened to her.

This is the second book of a four part series focusing on the four women of the Sweetwater Canyon band. I am going to be looking for the first book and cannot wait to read the upcoming books.

Healing Notes
by Maggie Jaimeson


Forgiving yourself is the first step, but helping others forgive may be just too hard.

Rachel Cullen grew up in Scotland with a fiddle in her hand from the age of four. She couldn't imagine life as anything but a musician. When her husband brought her to America she was immediately embraced by the Celtic and Bluegrass communities. But after her divorce, Rachel's life is a mess.

A year of trying to prove to herself that she's woman enough for any man, and then a vicious rape while on tour with the band, leaves Rachel reeling. When she meets Noel Kershaw, an English teacher who is poetry in motion, she is definitely attracted. But he has a young child and he's suffering from his own divorce. The last thing Rachel needs in life is more baggage.

First, Rachel must reconcile who she is, what she wants, and how to get there. Maybe then she'll know how to be a part of the family she's always wanted.


After she hung up, Rachel stared out at the river behind the house. She had goose bumps along her arms. She could listen to his voice for a long, long time. Why did this man intrigue her so much? Was it just because he didn’t seem interested? Yes, that must be it.  He was safe. He had a kid and he wasn’t interested.  That meant they wouldn’t get involved.

All conversation stopped as she entered the room and the women looked at her in anticipation. She had the urge to say nothing just to be difficult.

“Soooooo, who’s Noel?” Kat took the receiver from her. “I liked his voice. Sounded real sexy.”

Rachel took a deep breath and pasted a nonchalant smile on her face. “Remember the little girl at the last concert who wanted my autograph? Noel is her father.”

“I see.” Theresa drew out the word as an invitation for more.

“It’s not what you think. It turns out the little girl wants fiddle lessons. Since she saw us play, she’s gotten it in her mind that she wants to learn.  He had no idea who to call, so he thought he’d call the main number for the band to find me. He didn’t even think I gave lessons, just that I could make a recommendation.”

“Uh huh,” Michele said, a note of disbelief in her voice.

“But he is cute, right?” Kat insisted. “And you are interested, and something could be going on, right?”


“Ah, come on, Rachel.  How can you not be interested in that voice?”

“It’s just fiddle lessons for the little girl.  The girl is sweet. I’m happy to work with her. As for the father, nothing is going to happen. Believe me.”

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Maggie Jaimeson writes romantic women’s fiction and romantic suspense with a near future twist. She describes herself as a wife, a step-mother, a sister, a daughter, a teacher and an IT administrator. By day she is “geek girl” – helping colleges to keep up with 21st century technology and provide distance learning options for students in rural areas. By night Maggie turns her thoughts to worlds she can control – worlds where bad guys get their comeuppance, women triumph over tragedy, and love can conquer all.

HEALING NOTES is the second book in the Sweetwater Canyon Series of four books.  The final two books will be available in 2013.

Twitter: @maggiejaimeson


  1. Maggie, this looks like a great book. Good luck with sales.

  2. If my question has already been asked, please forgive my redundancy...I see this book is #2 in a series. Can the books be read a stand alone or is it necessary to read in order, as a series?

    kareninnc at gmail dot com

  3. Thank you for the review and excerpt.


  4. Barb, Thank you so much for your review and for hosting my book on your site. Paty, Karen, and Ingeborg thank you for stopping by.

    Karen, Yes the books in the series can be read as stand alone books. The primary story in the book is focused on the one member of the Sweetwater Canyon band and her journey to understanding herself and finding her happily-ever-after. You will not have a problem understanding everything in the book. However, the secondary characters in each novel tie together over the arc of the four books. For example, the relationships between Kat, Michele, Sarah, and Theresa change and grow with each novel just like relationships with your own family or best friends change and grow from year to year. It's not necessary to know everything that happened before to read and completely understand Rachel's story. However, knowing the chronology of those relationships and what happened before adds another layer of richness to the reader's understanding of the band as a whole.

    If you read one book and find you would like to know more about a character, or you simply wish to be a part of these women's lives a little longer, then you would probably want to go back and read UNDERTONES and buy the next two books next year. HEARTSTRINGS will be Sarah's story, and TWO VOICES will be the combined stories of Kat and Theresa.

    I hope that helps.

  5. Looks like a really great novel, I am sure I'd end up crying but would love it anyways

    fencingromein at hotmail dot com

  6. I like the names of your characters--Rachel and Noel. Do you have a process for choosing names? Do you have names chosen before you start writing or do they come to you later, after you've "lived" with the characters for a while?
    catherinelee100 at gmail dot com

  7. Good luck with the release!


  8. I'm intrigued by the term "near future twist'. I have not heard that before.


  9. Paty, Shannon, and Mary, thank you for stopping by at another blog on my tour.

    Catherine, sometimes I have names chosen before I start but most of the time the names I start with don't end up being the names I end with. After I "live" with them awhile I realize the name doesn't work. The women in the Sweetwater Canyon series of novels are all named after dear friends or siblings. It is my way of honoring them and their support of me. The men vary. In UNDERTONES, the hero is named after my brother who died in car accident when he was 15. It's a name I've always loved, David. In this novel I wanted a name that was representative of a creative personality. I also didn't want a hard, alpha male name. I immediately thought of Noel Coward and then realized how I could use that with a twist to describe the difficulty of having that name if you grow up in certain parts of the country.

  10. The drawing for the $25 Gift Card was done this weekend. The winner is Mary Preston, lucky commenter #18. She has been notified of her win.

    For the autographed cover flat giveaway, I've decided to give one to any one who commented and wishes to receive it. Because the cover flat must be snail mailed to you, you will need to send me an email to letting me know the following:

    1. Your mailing address.
    2. If you want the autographed flat endorsed to you. If so, what name should I use?

    I am willing to mail the cover flat to you, no matter where you live in the world. I appreciate all my readers. Thank you for taking the time to follow my review tour and for taking a look at Healing Notes.